Take the 2-minute tour ×
Geographic Information Systems Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for cartographers, geographers and GIS professionals. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The title sums it up, I'm trying to reset QGIS to its first run state under Windows 7 and XP. Deleting the .qgis folder in my user directory goes a long way to achieving this, but certain things persist such as:

  • The load state of core plugins
  • Recent Projects list
  • Options

And presumably others besides this list

Where are these bits of information stored?

Using QGIS 1.7.4 (411aff6)

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Most of that information is stored in the good ol' windows registry.

Check under:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\QuantumGIS

I think you can just nuke that whole entry and QGIS will just recreate it when it runs again.

share|improve this answer
    
Works a treat, thanks. –  Andy Harfoot Mar 21 '12 at 15:21
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.