Take the 2-minute tour ×
Geographic Information Systems Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for cartographers, geographers and GIS professionals. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Arcmap States that "When a new domain is created, the owner of that domain—that is, the user who created it—is recorded. Only the owner of an attribute domain can delete or modify it."

So say for example a usercreates a domain, then this user leaves the organization. Would it be impossible to then edit or delete that domain?

share|improve this question
    
You could very easily carry out a test case to prove this yourself. –  nagytech Dec 14 '12 at 4:12

1 Answer 1

up vote 2 down vote accepted

The quote given can be found in the ArcGIS 10.1 Help and goes on to say ...

"This only applies to enterprise geodatabases; in file or personal geodatabases any user can delete or modify a domain. The Domain Properties dialog box lists the owner of each domain when connected to enterprise geodatabases."

In an Enterprise environment I suspect the DBA would be able to ressign ownership from a departing to an alternative (perhaps admin) user.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.