Take the 2-minute tour ×
Geographic Information Systems Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for cartographers, geographers and GIS professionals. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Yesterday I was working in a single mxd all day, performing dozens of calculations and other analysis using multiple tools. A lot of it was trial and error, so when I found the correct combination I would label it as such in the Results window before documenting it in OneNote.

Geoprocessing results

I opened and closed that mxd multiple times, and was able to rerun those tools I had labelled, as expected. When I opened that mxd this morning at work, I found that the tools I had renamed had been reset to their default names - as a result, I've had to trawl through each result until I found the ones I wanted.

What I would like to know is, seeing as the processed tasks persist between sessions as it stored inside the mxd, so even if I open it on a different computer the results are still there, why does it "forget" that I renamed some of them?

share|improve this question
2  
Wow, I didn't even know you could rename these. And I right click on these all the time. How did I miss that? –  Fezter Jan 24 '13 at 6:11
    
I only saw this yesterday morning as well :) –  Cindy Williams Jan 24 '13 at 7:50
1  
I like to delete the ones that didn't work or gave me unexpected results, thereby decluttering the results window quite nicely for future referencing. –  ccn Jan 24 '13 at 17:22
    
Right click > Save As result file... why? –  Cindy Williams Jan 25 '13 at 7:20
    
Results can be dragged and dropped between mxds and will be stored in the Shared session node. –  Cindy Williams Jan 25 '13 at 9:48

2 Answers 2

up vote 1 down vote accepted

This looks like a bug to me because the documentation says that Rename on the Result shortcut menu ...

Renames the result. The default name is the tool name followed by the time and date.

I would recommend reporting it but in the meantime I would suggest that Copy As Python Snippet might be an alternative and perhaps better way to record results and re-run them later.

share|improve this answer
    
I did actually copy it over before I saw the renaming thing, I just found it quite irritating that I had taken the time to rename the results so that someone else could use the mxd, only to find everything reset. It could just be one of those things where if you use the same mxd for too long, things go weird :-/ which is why I normally use one mxd for 3 days max :( –  Cindy Williams Jan 24 '13 at 7:49

I would doubt if it actually allows you to do that i.e rename a session and persist the change. It could very well be by design...as this is not the right place to save your work in progress.

share|improve this answer
    
It is not possible to rename the session, I am referring to if you right click the result in the window, it gives you the option to Rename that particular result. If this does not persist between sessions, then what is the point of having that option there? –  Cindy Williams Jan 24 '13 at 6:03
    
Yup...that does seem like a goof-up. –  ujjwalesri Jan 24 '13 at 6:23

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.