Take the 2-minute tour ×
Geographic Information Systems Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for cartographers, geographers and GIS professionals. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In ArcGIS Online For Organizations, how does one publish a hosted feature service that is shared with Everyone for viewing, while restricting editing to specific users or groups, and different kinds of editing for different groups?

In the help at the end of Editor permissions for feature services under Configuring multiple tiers of access it says

If you need to support multiple tiers of users, each requiring different operations, the recommended approach is to create one service for each level of user. For example, you could create a Professors service that might have all operations allowed. Along with that, you could create a less-privileged Students service with only Create, Query, and Upload operations allowed.

Which is great, that's what I need to do. However what is left out is how to reconcile the multiple Feature Services so that when the Professors create new features the Students see the new records, and vice versa.

The web browser management Create Service wizard allows you to use one feature service as a source for a new one, but only the data model is used (symbol definitions, field names & types, etc.) while the actual features are left behind, the new service is blank. This is the intended behaviour.

share|improve this question
    
are you wanting it in the same web map? If you don't care about having more than one map. Each feature service also contains a map service one map with the feature service and one with the map service = editing control. –  Brad Nesom Apr 12 '13 at 17:43
    
@brad, no they don't need to be in the same map. However a Feature Service needs to be shared to be included in a web map, and once that happens people can bypass the map and go straight to the Feature Service irregardless of what share settings are set in the Web Map Service. –  matt wilkie Apr 12 '13 at 17:51
add comment

1 Answer

I have set up groups.
One group is an edit group. In that group the editable map (with feature service) is shared.
The group is private and I invite only the editors to it.
Another group is for non-editors and I invite other members to it.
In that group my map service (non-editable) webmap is shared.
It works a bit like assigning permissions and roles.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.