Take the 2-minute tour ×
Geographic Information Systems Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for cartographers, geographers and GIS professionals. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We have one concurrent use ArcView license, managed by a license server box in the office. The server reports that one of our desktops has the license 'borrowed', but when looking at the Desktop Admin tool on that box, it doesn't show anything about having a license checked out. It seems the license is somewhere lost in the ether.

Is there a way, from the desktop side, to 'force return' or destroy the local license file? There appears to be no way for me to get the license returned from the desktop side. I've filed a report with Esri, but not holding out hope that my issue will be fixed ASAP.

Anyone here have experience with this problem? Would a reinstall of the desktop software help?

share|improve this question
    
default borrowing is 30 days. help.arcgis.com/en/arcgisdesktop/10.0/help/index.html#//… you need to return it then needs to be done on the server side and the desktop should return it if communication is good. –  Mapperz Nov 18 '13 at 14:32
    
My problem right now is that the desktop machine in question doesn't show anything under the 'current borrowed licenses' menu in the Desktop Administrator. So I can't return the borrowed license at all. –  colemanm Nov 18 '13 at 15:22
2  
restarting the license server can sometimes help with these disagreements. After having a similar problem I made sure to always reduce the license borrowing time limit to 1 day so that things would always fix themselves soon enough –  tomfumb Nov 18 '13 at 17:42
    
I've tried restarting the license server a number of times, but that doesn't seem to help. I still see zero licenses available on both sides. This is beyond frustrating. –  colemanm Nov 18 '13 at 18:50
add comment

2 Answers 2

This ArcGIS forum thread suggests that simply changing the date on the server to fool it into thinking that the time was up might work.

share|improve this answer
add comment
up vote 0 down vote accepted

I reran the server-side authorization and it seemed to usurp the old license. But not sure this would work in all cases for all people.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.