Take the 2-minute tour ×
Geographic Information Systems Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for cartographers, geographers and GIS professionals. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I haven't really read this anywhere.

What is the proper way of deleting versioned data from an SDE geodatabase to make sure nothing is left behind in the A & D tables?

Do I need to unversion the data before I delete it? Do I need to remove the user versions? Or does it matter?

Thanks.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Unversioning removes the A and D tables associated with a single versioned feature class. Any edits not reconciled and posted to the base table will be lost, which appears to be your goal.

share|improve this answer
    
Okay, but what if I were to not unversion the data and delete it. Would it still do the same thing? Or could there possibly be tables left stranded out there? –  ian Mar 19 at 15:50
1  
If you DROP the A & D tables without unversioning, you corrupt your geodatabase. If you use ArcGIS to delete the versioned feature classes it will clean up the instance correctly. –  Vince Mar 19 at 16:30

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.