2

I have successfully create a replica between 2 geodatabase and use a scheduler to synchronize the replica between the 2 geodatabase several months ago. But the scheduler didn't work because of changes in the original geodb. In this case I need to create the replica once again (according to user's request), my question is if I use the same replica name, is there a need of deleting the existing one? What will happen if I create the replica directly? Any potential dangers? Since this is a in operation system, I cannot afford of failure.

EDIT: After my research from internet, I even cannot find a way to delete a replica.

1

Are you talking about a two-way replica?

Go into ArcCatalog and right click on the database. Go to Distributed Geodatabases and Manage Replicas. You can right click on the replica name and remove it.

As far as changes to the original database. Depending on what you mean, you can use the Export Replica Schema tool on the original database and them import that XML into the other database using the Import Replica Schema tool, and it should add the changes to your database.

I'd highly suggest reading this documentation on Schema Changes

If you're in a connected environment this is a much easier process. I was always disconnected form the other server, so it was a bit of a pain.

2
  • Hi ian. thanks a lot. We are using one-way replica. It should use the same way to manage right? – ppLily Aug 7 '14 at 1:38
  • @ppLily yes, it will. – ianbroad Aug 7 '14 at 1:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.