1

Hypothetical scenario: I've shared an ArcGIS Web Mapping Application with non-tech-savvy staff members. One of the staff members accidentally deletes a point within the Web Mapping Application.

  1. Is it possible to undo this operation within the Web Mapping Application?
  2. If not, Can I retrieve the data from the linked database?
1
  • 1
    There is an option available to prevent deletion. Go to item details -> edit -> check the prevent deletion box – Maksim Oct 30 '15 at 15:56
3

As far as I know, and we have run into this problem before, you can not undo this operation in AGO (if anyone has other information I would love to hear it.) Our solution was to create a versioned environment with the AGO web edits occuring on a child version of the GDB. That way if field crews screw up some data, which happens more often than you would think, we could easily replace that data with the parent version and go from there. Here is some data on how to setup versioning, of course this would require ArcSDE.

http://resources.arcgis.com/EN/HELP/MAIN/10.1/index.html#//003n000000t7000000 http://www.esri.com/news/arcuser/0110/versioning101.html

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.