I want to duplicate a layer and then delete some polygons from the duplicate only, without deleting them from the original layer. Is this possible?
No, because duplicate layers share the same data source. I recommend to 'save layer as...' with option 'add saved layer to project' checked. This copy you may edit without changing the source layer.