I have polygon layer with multiple types of area (forest, grass, and many more), and I´d like to divide this layer into many layers by the area type.

I´ve tried Split function but I receive an error 000354 - because the type of areas are in Czech and contain national characters.

Please does anybody know how to do this??

For example how to automatically rename the types of areas to valid form, or how to write an python script which creates this layer for each of the area type in with definition query for layer?

I'm using ArcGIS 10.1 for Desktop.

  • Can you write a query using the Czech characters? If so can you make a selection and use a calculator to rename. In version 10 I can still use VB script with "replace" but not sure if version 10.1 is python only... – Jakub Sisak GeoGraphics Oct 15 '12 at 0:38
  • The only part which seems not to be the same as the duplicate is the Czech part but an answer was accepted that makes no reference to it so it seems to be an aside. – PolyGeo Mar 17 '15 at 7:52

I do not see this functionality in ArcGIS. However, there is a free Toolbox with a tool named "Split Layer By Attribute" at this link.

ArcGIS Resource Center

  • It´s look like a solution, but there is a problem with Czech national characters (ěščřžýáíéúů) - this script ends with error: 'ascii' codec can't encode character u'\xe1' in position 10: ordinal not in range(128). I tried to change coding of file or add "coding header" # -- coding: cp1250 --, but it still ends on the error. – VilemRousi Oct 15 '12 at 11:09
  • The File Geodatabase (.gdb) and Personal Geodatabase (.mdb) are supposed to support Unicode. Have you tested either of these? – klewis Oct 15 '12 at 20:56

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.