2

I have been working with geopackages at a company where we have all our data sync in a drive. The thing is that when I save a project, QGIS creates an extra geopackage with the same name as the original + compute name.

Why does this happens?

How can I be sure that all the changes are in the original geopackage?

3
  • Do both geopackage files end with the suffix ".gpkg"? Are they the same size? What version of QGIS? What operating system? – Stu Smith Aug 19 '20 at 16:33
  • yes, both ends with .gpkg same size, windows 10. Even a change in the symbology creates a new geopackage named as: OriginalGeopackageName_UserComputer_1 (or 2, 3 if the person does more changes) My guess is that maybe the problem is due to issues when syncing with drive but I'm not sure. – Javiera Alvarez Herrera Aug 19 '20 at 17:29
  • I have been struggling with limitations of google drive (file stream in my case) and how geopackages work in QGIS. Whenever a qgis file is opened that contains a .gpkg google decides that the file has changed and uploads it even if no changes have been made. I think that if that happens on 2 separate machines google will create a duplicate file appended with the computer name. I haven't figured it out but in theory you can load it in a different mode and have this not happen. github.com/qgis/QGIS/pull/36741 – Baswein Aug 19 '20 at 18:50

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.