I am new to ArcGIS Desktop.

I have one layer with different types of sewer: for rain water only, for waste water only and both mixed. Every type of sewer should have his own color: rain - blue, waste water - brown, mixed - violet. So I created a categorized symbology with three categories based on the layers attribut "type".

Now my problem is the following: I want to see only one type of sewer in my map, for example the one for rain water.

How can I get this done?

There is only one checkbox for the whole layer, not for the single categories in the toc.

Prior to ArcGIS/ArcMap I used GeoMedia from Intergraph/Hexagon and now in addition QGIS. In both GIS programs I'm able to turn off single categories but I couldn't find such a function in ArcGIS/ArcMap.

The only solution I have at the moment is to set the symbology of the categories I don't want to see to width zero or to insert the layer three times with single symbology and use filters for the type.

1 Answer 1


Use a Definition Query to limit your symbology to one Type attribute.

For example: Type = "rain"

  • Thanks for your quick answer! There´s really no other, more efficient way to geht this result?
    – Astrid
    Jan 11, 2021 at 9:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.