1

A friend has created a Google Maps list so that we can both starting adding to it places of interest for our upcoming holiday. He set that list to "shared", i.e. there's now a private link to it, which I have. Indeed, when logged in with my own Google account, I can see that list and its contents, and "follow" the list.

However, I cannot add anything to it. That is, when I navigate to a place in Google Maps and click Save, all I see are my own lists, and not also the said shared list which I'm following. I'd additionally like to be able to delete existing saved places from the list.

I'm guessing this feature is simply not yet available, otherwise Google would have made it easy to use.

What I wonder, though, is whether any workaround can be thought up to achieve my aims?

4
  • Asking here after my question got booed off StackOverflow.
    – z8080
    Aug 27 at 19:10
  • 1
    There isn't much in the way of GIS content here.
    – Vince
    Aug 27 at 19:23
  • Which SE site is most appropriate for this question? I thought both the GIS and SO are at least half-relevant places. The Travel SE has hardly any questions on Google Maps at all.
    – z8080
    Aug 27 at 19:55
  • 1
    I think editing map data is on topic, whether it's using cloud (i.e Google Maps, ArcGIS Online, etc.), server or desktop software.
    – user2856
    Aug 27 at 23:19

2 Answers 2

2

Instead, try creating a shared Google My Maps map.

Click "Share"

enter image description here

Then "Share on Drive"

enter image description here

Select "Anyone with the link" and change "Viewer" to "Editor"

enter image description here

The other users will need to be signed in to a Google account to edit.

1
  • Indeed, MyMaps is much more powerful, but sadly also much less integrated and streamlined across platforms
    – z8080
    Aug 28 at 19:36
1

Adding to the shared list is allowed, but removing an item that another user has added is not allowed.

To Add a location to the shared list:

First, ensure you have accepted the invitation to join the shared list.

Next, access the list with Google Maps.

Click the Add+ pin icon

Navigate to the location you want to add.

Choose Save to complete the add.

1
  • To remove a list item that someone else has added, send them an email or chat msg asking to remove it ;( Aug 28 at 18:52

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.