I am trying to create a template with several maps, layouts, and datasets pre-loaded. Some of the datasets will include data that I will not modify, but others will be empty datasets, with the symbology set to my preferences. I plan to add features to those datasets using the create new feature tool. This will save me the time of creating each feature class and setting the symbology to my liking.
Once I use the template to create a new project and all the features are loaded, if I start creating new features in these feature classes, will be overwriting data that is used in other projects? How can I ensure that the modifications I make to each feature class will stay with the project I am working within and not affect other projects? Do I just need to copy the datasets that I plan to edit into the home geodatabase file for the new project I just created?