1

When a tool processed in foreground fails, I have some time to read the log. After closing the log I get redirected to the tool dialog, where I stopped just before executing the tool. I know this is often handy, but while debugging models, I'd appreciate if the next step after closing the log was plain document (like when running the tool in background) or even "model builder" window.
Is there any way how to change this behavior (except for running all the processes in background, which is not what I want for other reasons, or running the model from Model Builder, which is not possible with "white boxes")?

  • This is not exactly what you asked, but since you mention Model Builder... you'll find better debugging options if you convert the model to a Python script. Then you'll be able to add breakpoints and step through your code, giving you far more control – Stephen Lead Aug 1 '13 at 13:58
  • I'm not sure that I understand what you are after, or why, but when I am debugging large models I like to run in the foreground (like you are) and I simply Select All and Copy/Paste from the tool dialog using Ctrl-A, Ctrl-C, then Ctrl-V to transfer the text into Word, Notepad, etc to search it. – PolyGeo Aug 5 '13 at 23:24
  • @PolyGeo: I have checked if "tool dialog" is really what I thought it is, and it's not where error messages display (and from where I copy them), but where the parameters are set. I usually run models through this, so after running the log I get returned to the tool dialog. It's a matter of a click or two to leave it, no real problem, but it's annoying. I editted my question to clarify this. – Pavel V. Aug 6 '13 at 9:56
  • Now I understand what you are describing - I think that, when run is unsuccessful, after you have clicked the progress/results dialog away, you want it not to return to the tool dialog. Personally, I find that this is handy. If you wanted to change that behaviour I think you will need to write up an ArcGIS Idea for ArcGIS Professional. – PolyGeo Aug 6 '13 at 11:17
  • 2
    I can confirm, theres no option to modify this behavior. Thats how it works. In the new ArcGIS Pro app, the dialogues will behave a bit differently than this. – KHibma Aug 6 '13 at 14:37
1

As commented by @KHibma:

I can confirm, theres no option to modify this behavior. Thats how it works. In the new ArcGIS Pro app, the dialogues will behave a bit differently than this.

  • It's some time since I really needed this and since that comment, so finding another solution is unlikely... On the other hand, I didn't specify a version in my question, so I wonder whether I should specify it retroactively (I think it was 10.0) and accept this answer, or leave it open and wait for some answer like "it's possible since..." – Pavel V. Jun 16 '16 at 14:31
  • @PavelV. There's no obligation to accept, especially since I am just quoting a comment from KHibma - had he posted the answer then I would recommend acceptance because I believe him to be an Esri authoritative source on such questions. – PolyGeo Jun 16 '16 at 20:08
  • For now, I upvoted his comment - before, it was visible only after clicking "more comments". – Pavel V. Jun 17 '16 at 5:19

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.