In QGIS, if I close a project and try to open it a few days later I often get a message that says "Handle bad layers". This is very frustrating because when I open the project various layers will have been deleted. This has happened to me while using the QGIS flowmapper plugin in particular.
What does this message mean? And how do I avoid this in the future?